Announced election dates- 7 Rounds From April 11 To May 19, Results On May 23


Along with the Lok Sabha elections, the Election Commission of India also announced the dates for assembly elections for the states of Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim.

All the four states will go to polls simultaneously with the parliamentary elections in the respective states.

While elections in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim assembly will be held in a single phase on 11 April, Odisha will vote to elect its assembly in four phases — 11 April, 18 April, 23 April and 29 April.

The announcement signals the start of a colossal voting exercise that will see Prime Minister Narendra Modi seeking another term in office and the opposition attempting to join forces to put up a strong fight.

Best wishes to the Election Commission, all those officials and security personnel who will be on the field, across the length and breadth of India assuring smooth elections. India is very proud of the EC for assiduously organising elections for several years.- PM Modi tweeted.

The Model Code of Conduct spelling out dos and don’ts for elections is now in place, which means the government cannot announce any new schemes.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) came to power with a decisive mandate, winning 282 of the 543 seats, with the Congress being reduced to a humiliating 44 seats. Among the regional parties, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress won 34 seats, while Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal bagged 20.