Congress flounders, NCP’s Supriya Sule-Pawar scores hat-trick in Baramati


Mumbai: As the Congress floundered in one just seat, Chandrapur, ally Nationalist Congress Party’s Supriya Sule-Pawar was declared elected from Baramati Lok Sabha, for the third consecutive time, here on Thursday.

She has secured a little over 650,000 votes compared to her nearest Bharatiya Janata Party rival, (Mrs.) Kanchan R. Kool, who bagged a little over 493,000 votes.

This makes her the first winner from the 48 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state, second highest in the country after Uttar Pradesh, in the 2019 elections, overcoming the ‘Modi-wave’ for the second time since 2014, and marking her third win since 2009.

However, her nephew Parth Ajit Pawar, was not so lucky and trailed way behind Shiv Sena’s Shrirang Barne with a margin of over 200,000 votes in Maval constituency.

Besides, three other NCP candidates are leading with comfortable margins. They are: Chhatrapati Udayanraje P. Bhosale from Satara, Marathi filmstar Amol R. Kolhe in Shirur and Sunil Tatkare in Raigad.

The Congress’ nominee in Chandrapur – Suresh N. Dhanorkar is engaged in a tough ding-dong battle to wrest the seat from BJP’s sitting MP Hansraj G. Ahir.

Besides, All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM)’s Imtiyaz Jaleel Syed was leading in Aurangabad at 192,389 votes compared to sitting Shiv Sena MP Chandrakant Khaire who was trailing at 159,707 votes.

South Indian film actress Navnit Kaur R. Rana, who is an independent candidate supported by the Opposition combine, was leading in Amravati with 328,489 votes over main rival, Shiv Sena’s Anandrao V. Adsul who secured 290,651 votes.

Incidentally, Navnit Kaur’s husband is independent legislator Ravi Rana, who is the nephew of yoga guru-cum-industrialist, Ramdev Baba.

Barring these seven candidates, the BJP-Sena combine was ahead in the remaining 41 of the 48 Lok Sabha seats in the state.