List of Ministers who can be in Modi’s new cabinet


Prime Minister Narendra Modi will take oath today at 7 pm and with him, his new cabinet will also take the oath. However, rumours are strong that many new names can be introduced in the new cabinet and some of the old ministers can be retained. However, the portfolio of old ministers can be shuffled and they can get a new ministry.

Ministers in the outgoing Cabinet, Sushma Swaraj, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Smriti Irani, Dharmendra Pradhan and Piyush Goyal can be repeated, according to reports.

Among those who have heard from Shah are Kishan Reddy, Telangana BJP chief and MP from Gangapuram, and Jitendra Singh. BJP ally RPI leader Ramdas Athawale has also heard from Shah. Speaking to ANI earlier, Athawale had exuded confidence when he said, “I believe that Modi Ji will consider me to be a minister. I’m hopeful of getting a phone call regarding it today. The names of Ram Vilas Paswan, Anupriya Patel and Arvind Sawant have come, I think I will also get a chance to serve the nation.”

Paswan, Patel and Sawant belong to allies LJP, Apna Dal and Shiv Sena respectively. SAD MP Harsimrat Kaur Badal and BJP MP Babul Supriyo are also likely to be inducted in the new Cabinet. Haridwar MP Dr Ramesh Pokriyal Nishank has also got Shah’s call.

ANI reported that those likely to get a Cabinet berth would be meeting PM Modi at his residence at 4.30 PM. Going by that information, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Dharmendra Pradhan would be sworn in today as reports said the duo would be meeting the PM. Likewise, D V Sadanand Gowda and Giriraj Singh will also meet the PM at his official residence.