Maharashtra: Balasaheb Thorat is new MPCC chief


The All India Congress Committee (AICC) on Saturday announced Balasaheb Thorat as the president of the Maharashtra unit of the party, a time when the party prepares to go in for the crucial state assembly polls.

The post of Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) chief had fallen vacant as Ashok Chavan resigned from his post following the party’s worst-ever performance in the recently held Lok Sabha elections, where the party won just one seat.

K C Venugopal, the General secretary of the Congress also appointed Nitin Raut, Baswaraj Patil, Vishwajeet Kadam, Yashomati Thakur, Muzaffer Hussain as the working presidents of the MPCC.

Also, K C Padvi has been made the Congress Legislative Party leader for Maharashtra.
The Congress is facing a tough task to revive itself in the state, once its stronghold, against the political might of the BJP which has succeeded in expanding its footprint at the expense of the Congress.

Thorat, who was appointed as the legislature party leader after resignation of Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil recently, had represented Agriculture and Revenue portfolios when the UPA-led government was in power.

Thorat, who was elected as an MLA from Sangamner in Ahmednagar district in 2009, has founded a number of cooperative education bodies in Sangamner. He is also known for his contribution in the milk cooperative movement.