Maharashtra govt formation LIVE: President’s rule imposed in Maharashtra


Maharashtra govt formation: With no consensus achieved between Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress, President’s rule has been imposed

After 19 days of fruitless efforts, President’s rule has been imposed in Maharashtra as Shiv Sena, Nationalist Congress Party, and Indian National Congress failed to reach a consensus to form a government. The Bharatiya Janata Party showed its inability to form the government after Governor invited Devendra Fadnavis to form the government. Since then the tussle for power began. Uddhav Thackeray, Sharad Pawar, Sonia Gandhi, and other leaders of the three parties were in talks to reach a solution for the impasse. However, after Shiv Sena failed to provide a letter for support, NCP got an invitation from the governor. After much deliberation and talks, the three parties could not come on the same page and the state had to see the president’s rule.

The BJP, which is ruling in the interim, has 105 MLAs and opted out of forming a government when its ally, the Sena, insisted on the Chief Minister’s post.
President Ram Nath Kovind has signed the notification saying that assembly will be dismissed in Maharashtra and President’s rule will be inforced.


(Courtesy: Times of India)