NCP chief Sharad Pawar would be in trouble in MSC Bank scam


FIR filed against 76 then directors including Ajit Pawar

Mumbai: The Mata Ramabai Ambedkar (MRA) Marg police on Monday filed an First Information Report (FIR) against 76 then directors of Maharashtra State Co-operative (MSC) bank popularly known as Shikhar Bank (Apex Bank) in more than Ra 25,000 crore scam. The accused included Nationalist Congress Party leader and former deputy chief minister Ajit Pawar under section 406, 420, 465, 467, 471, 120 (B) of Indian Penal Code and section 13 (1) (a) and 13 (1) (c) of Anti-Corruption Law.

On Monday team from Economic Offences Wing (EOW), unit one which deals with banking related offences reached  MRA Marg police station and registered an offence under Indian Penal Code (IPC) sections of cheating (420) Criminal breach of trust by public servant (409),  criminal breach of trust(406), forgery (465,467, 468),  criminal conspiracy(120,b) and 34 (common intention).

Though, name of NCP president Sharad Pawar is not included in the list of accused, the National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development (NABARD) in its report submitted to the government had mentioned his name and held him responsible for the scam. The NABARD has recorded its report that it was a criminal conspiracy and abetment since all the decisions of MSC bank were at Pawar’s behest.

The list includes many top politicians from the Congress, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Peasants and Workers Party of India (PWPI) and even the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Shiv Sena.

The name of accused in the MSC bank fraud filed in the FIR includes — 1.Manikrao Patil (then chairman), 2. Nilesh Balasaheb Naik, 3. Vijay Singh Mohite Patil, 4. Ajit Pawar, 5. Dilip Deshmukh, 6. Rajendra Shingare, 7. Madan Patil, 8. Hasan Mushrif, 9. Madhukar Chavan, 10. Shivram Jadhav, 11. Gulabrao Shelke, 12. Madhavrao Patil, 13. Siddramappa Allure, 14. Vilasrao Patil, 15. Ravindra Durgakar, 16. Arvind Poredivar, 17. Sadashivrao Mandlik, 18. Yeshwantrao Gadakh, 19. Lilawati Jadhav, 20. Madhukarrao Jaujal, 21. Prasad Tanpure, 22. Anandrao Chavan, 23. Sarkar Jitendra Singh Rawal, 24. Babasaheb Vasade, 25. Naresh Chandra Thakare, 26. Nitin Patil, 27. Kiran Deshmukh, 28. Tanajirao Chorge, 29. Dattatray Patil, 30. Rajendra Jain, 31. Tukaram Dighole, 32. Minakshi Patil, 33. Ravindra Shetye, 34. Prithviraj Deshmukh, 35. Anandrao Adsul, 36. Rajendra Patil, 37. Ankush Pol, 38. Nandkumar Dhote, 39. Jagannath Patil, 40. Suresh Deshmukh, 41. Ushatai Choudhari, 42. Santoshkumar Korpe, 43. Jayant Patil, 44. Devidas Pingale, 45. N D Kamble, 46. Rajwardhan Kadambande, 47. Gangadharrao Deshmukh, 48. Ramprasad Kadam, 49. Dhananjay Dalal, 50 Jayantrao Avale, 51. Vasatrao Shinde, 52. D M Mohol,.53. Pandurang Fundkar, 54. Ishwarlal Jain, 55. Vasantrao Pawar, 56. Rajan Teli, 57. Diliprao Deshmukh, 58. Chandrashekhar Ghule-Patil, 59. Vilasrao Jagtap, 60. Amarsinh Pandit, 61. Yogesh Patil, 62. Shekhar Nikam, 63. Shrinivas Deshmukh, 64. D M Ravindra Deshmukh, 65. Vishwasrao Shinde, 66. Yashwant Patil, 67. Babanrao Tayavade, 68. Avinash Aringle, 69. Rajanitai Patil, 70. Laxmanrao Patil, 71. Manikrao Konate, 72. Rahul Mote, 73. Shivajirao Nalavade, 74. Sunil Funde, 75. Shailaja More and 76. Managing director (MD).

The complainant Surinder Arora who has also filed a Public Interest Litigation (PIL) in Bombay High Court against the corruption in MSC bank and on which the HC has directed Economic Offence Wing (EOW) to file an FIR.

The FIR stated there were several illegalities committed in disbursement of loans by the board of directors during the period between January 1, 2002 to December 31, 2017. The approximate amount of loans which were fraudulently disbursed by the MSC bank or DCC banks or by the Pen Urban cooperative bank was more than Rs 25,000 crore.

Arora in his FIR stated that ‘since the loans were disbursed at the behest of kingpin such as Mr Sharad Pawar who exercise absolute control over the affairs of the MSC and DCC banks in Maharashtra and without whose prior approval no loans were sanctioned.’